Menu Close

Category: Facebook

What Happens to Your Social Media after your Death!!

Really no one ever dies in 21st century because even if your physical body leaves the world, a digital body is left behind. So, when you die it doesn’t mean your social media accounts dies with you.

According to reports in 2016, around 8000 Facebook users die daily, the equivalent of 428 every hour. With 312,500 now reportedly passing away each month. If Facebook stops growing then more users will be dead than alive by 2065.

So, if they doesn’t vanishes with you then what happens to your social media accounts after your death ?

Let’s find out.

So, Facebook doesn’t wipe out your account even after a long time after your death. Instead of wiping out it makes it a memorial account, anyone could report a user as dead – which would permanently lock the account and keep it from posting updates or appearing in birthday notifications.

In 2015, Facebook introduced “Legacy Contacts” who, in the event that a person died, could sign on to the account and the legacy contact is chosen by the user itself from their friend list. The legacy contacts cant read the deceased messages but can change their profile photo and archive posts and photos.

However, users can choose to delete their account permanently after their death by choosing the option from the settings. Also, the family or friends of the deceased can request to delete the profile by uploading the death certificate.

Instagram hack also handles the issue with the same policy as of Facebook where they memorialize the account after their friends or family reports it and for verification, they ask for proof of death such as any news article or death certificate. Moreover, the account can be deleted also if asked by family and proof of death is provided.

Posts of the deceased user will stay shared on the site and are visible to the people they were shared with, but memorialized accounts do not appear in public spaces like searches.

Twitter gives only one option where you can delete the deceased account deleted but you can’t ask for the credentials or access to deceased’s account.

To deactivate a Twitter account after the death, Twitter requires an immediate family member to present a copy of their ID and a death certificate of the deceased.

For Pinterest, you can request the deactivation of the deceased if you belong to his family. However, it’s still not clear whether they will provide the credentials or access to the account to even a family member.

Coming to emails, Gmail users can set up an “Inactive Account Manager” who will share or delete an account after a period of inactivity. If not selected, Gmail deletes the account on request from any family member. They even provide details from their account if it’s important and also if it’s requested by an immediate family member.